[interview] ADVENTURE MAN Release New Album DOG DAZE


Today sees the official release of the new album from ADVENTURE MAN, entitled DOG DAZE. The album comes after the release of the first single and music video, Let’s Stay Home, earlier in March 2017.

The writing for the album started in 2015 by Gad De Combes, with most of the songs being completed in 2016. ‘Playing Games’ and ‘My Basenji’ were the last two songs written in February 2017. The album was recorded at High Seas Studios with Jacques Du Plessis and Adrian Erasmus producing and engineering.

Gad had written a song about his border collie, Sammy for his first album. Once he had written ‘Sorry Shaniqua’, he realised he had a lot more dogs which are his perfect source material. He made a conscious effort to get every track to sound completely different from each other for the new album, with themes of idioms and children’s rhymes throughout.

“I chose the name DOG DAZE because I love the pun; the idea that a dog’s love can put you in a daze, but I also know that there might come a time in life when I won’t be able to have a dog and then I could always reminisce about the days that I did.”

While nowadays most songs are about breakups or parties, Gad writes about evil shopping malls and dogs. “Dogs mean everything to me. They don’t judge you or make you feel inferior, they just want to love. That’s what it’s all about isn’t it?”

He describes the songs on the new album as more evolved than that on his previous album. Jacques and Adrian co-wrote three of the tracks with him, and their immaculate production really pushed the new album. Gad could also get a bit more creative with the arrangements of the new songs seeing as he now performs with a full band.


DOG DAZE Track Listing:

1.   Dog Days
2.   Let’s Stay Home (feat. Rebecca Taylor)
3.   Bruno (feat. DDC)
4.   Phantom Babies
5.   My Basenji (feat. DDC)
6.   Escape The Mall (feat. Jon Shaban)
7.   Playing Games (feat. Rebecca Taylor)
8.   Sorry Shaniqua
9.   Sublime (feat. Grassy Spark)
10. A Song For You
11. Sorry Shaniqua Remix (Simon Ackermann Remix)

“I couldn’t be more proud of the final product. I made an album with my friends and family who did it out of love, and it shows. It’s like listening to your favourite storybook on tape in the backseat of your parents’ car on the way to Sun City. Fans can look forward to catchy riffs, goofy melodies, and a lot of fun!”


“Adventure Man’s new album Dog Daze is a groovy blend of South African guitar riffs and storied lyrics. If you’re looking for a chilled album that reminds you of your own pet’s antics, then this is the album just for you.” 
– Henry Marsh, Our Friends.

“Adventure Man’s latest album Dog Daze is more fun than a barrel of monkeys! This truly euphoric and upbeat tone is sure to keep you dancing and smiling from beginning to end.“ 
 – Donovan de Kock, Infinity.“I’d pick my dog any day over anyone. Gad understands this. This album is his love for his dogs made manifest, peppered by quirky lyrics, bouncy ’80s synth lines and some surprising downtempo departures for Adventure Man.” – Tecla Ciolfi, Texxandthecity.


  • Hello Adventure Man.. How is everyone doing today? Lovely to be chatting to you.
I am well, the dogs are good. Been a while guys!
  • Before we get started, can you please introduce us to the members of Adventure Man, tell us everyones roles in the band and how you all met to for this epic band?
Po-Chung plays the drums. He found me on Facebook before I ever met him and we quickly became real friends. Cole plays bass, muso extraordinaire, he’s also the bassist for Ocean’s Riot! Becca is our singer. She came in to help on let’s Stay Home, and we didn’t let her leave!
  • Can you give us a short background on the name Adventure Man?
Adventure Boy was the hero of a game I loved, Adventure Island. I’d like to believe he grew up to be in an indie band!
  • Where do you guys take inspiration from in your “sound”?
Bands like Spoon, Crash Test Dummies, Crowded House and Sublime all played big parts in this new album
  • You have just dropped your latest album, DOG DAZE. What can tell us about this album? Any awesome songs from crazy stories, any notable collaborations?
There are 4 songs about dogs (2 with my brother DDC) 2 songs about my breakup, and 2 very awesome collaborations, one with Grassy Spark, and one with Jon Shaban
  • Where can we find ourselves a copy of the album?
It will be everywhere digitally March 24, and we Vinyls will be ready mid April
  • Our local scene has been growing positively over the past few years… What are your thoughts on our local music scene at the moment and if there is anything you wish to see happen differently? 
We are definitely in a great time for new bands. It’s nice to hear pleasant songs about everyday things, bands are taking a more fun approach to songwriting, and I’d love to hear more of that!
  • Are there any local acts that you think need a special mention?
Following Fiction are gonna be huge. Sol Gems are rad as well as Go Barefoot and Pollinator
  • Anything that you guys are currently working on that we would be interested in hearing about?
I am planning on releasing a series of children’s books based on Shaniqua, my pug…
  • Where can we follow you on Social media?
** Interview answers by: Gad De Combes
** Photos by Allison Martin and Mark Welvering
** Drawing by Rebecca Taylor 

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *